Why no, I did not NaNo. And I don’t feel badly about it either.

Published December 1, 2011 by christinenorris

It’s December. I know, right? November is gone, and with it the memories of turkeys gone by, family gatherings, football games, and the insanity that is NaNoWriMo.

National Novel Writing Month (NaNo), is the event held every year where writers, published and aspiring alike, try to write 50,000 words in 30 days. Nutters. Don’t get me wrong, it’s a noble pursuit, and I cheer on anyone who tries. But my Novembers are so full of…life… that I just can’t manage to squeeze it in and keep my sanity.

But now my Grad School semester is over, and football is over, and my son’s birthday, and Thanksgiving, so I’m doing a little NaNo one month late. (it’s all right; I’ve always been a late bloomer). I can’t promise 50,000 words, but I am going to see if I can’t do maybe half that before New Year’s Eve. I have a new book to start, and another to outline before my editor wants to start working on the next Library of Athena book (oh, if you don’t know what that is, you will. I am going to talk about the series A LOT over the next few months) in January, because that needs to be done before the Spring semester starts.

Thank goodness I only have two semesters left. I can’t wait to be finished.

Leave a Reply

