Media Monday: TV Rewind — Grimm

Published July 8, 2013 by christinenorris

This is a new show for me. I wanted to watch it when it first premiered, but for some reason I don’t remember now, I didn’t. I think another show I was well-involved with was on opposite. But, now, through the power of Netflix, I can watch all the episodes in a row whenever I want. Lately I’ve taken to watching while I’m sweating on a cardio machine at the gym. It’s good distraction, because I LOVE this show.

The basic premise is that the main character, Nick, is part of a long line of familial tradition. He is a Grimm — a guardian that protects mankind from the creatures that haunt the pages of the tales told by Wilhelm and Jacob. It is his job to hunt them, but he, well, takes a little different take on the hunting part. See, Nick is a cop.

If you’ve spent more than five minutes with me, you know that I am a lover of fairy tales. Especially Grimm’s. I mean, like everyone else I grew up on Disney, but I had a copy of Grimm’s Complete Fairy Tales that I picked up at a yard sale when I was a kid, and I read the crap out of that thing. Now I own a much nice copy that I got on sale at B&N, and it sits over my writing desk. I am also a lover of fairy tale retellings. I love when writers include the little original things that may go unnoticed by people who don’t love fairy tales as much as I do.

The other reason I love this show is that it doesn’t shy away from the original material. Well, it DOES, obviously. I mean, this show takes place in modern day Portland, not mid-17th century Germany. What I mean is that these are not Uncle Walt’s fairy tales. They  honor the tradition of blood and gore that make Grimm’s so …grim. People die, arms get ripped off.

But they also put in funny little things, like in the episode The Three Bad Wolves, the last little pig-guy lives in..a brick house. They don’t go out of their way to point it out, but if you’re paying attention, you’ll get all these awesome little Easter eggs. (Of course, The Three Little Pigs is not a Grimm tale, but I’m not picky).

I also find it HYSTERICAL that Monroe, the Blutbod (Big Bad Wolf) that Nick is friends with, drives a VW Bug.

This is only one of my favorite shows/movies that involve fairy-tale retelling, but if you haven’t checked this out yet, you need to.

4 comments on “Media Monday: TV Rewind — Grimm

  • I started watching this show after I grew a little tired of supernatural but by the second season this too got repetitive and monotonous. But I totally loved the whole twisted fairytale theme.

  • Leave a Reply

