Media Monday — The new Doctor

Published August 5, 2013 by christinenorris

Yesterday came the big announcement that all Whovians have been waiting for since June 1, when it was announced that Matt Smith would be leaving at The Doctor during the Christmas Special this year. I must admit, I really wasn’t hyped up about it, because they never pick someone that I know. I’m not a huge aficionado of British TV stars, outside of John Barrowman, Benedict Cumberbatch, and the casts of Harry Potter and Lord of the Rings.  So when the man stepped out onto the stage yesterday, I was like,

“WHO?” (Yeah, yeah, I get the joke. But you just can’t help it.)

I had no idea who Peter Capaldi is when I saw him.  He’s a bit older, but not an antique. Then someone reminded me that he’s been on DW before. He played the part of the father in “The Fires of Pompeii” when Donna Noble first became the companion of David Tennant’s Tenth Doctor (Karen Gillan was also in that episode, if you watch carefully you’ll find her). 

It’s always hard to adjust when they change actors. I wasn’t a huge fan of Christopher Eccleston, but he did the role justice. David Tennant was brilliant, and so it was difficult to get used to Matt Smith. But he grew on me, and I’ll miss him. It still feels like Matt is the ‘new’ Doctor to me, though, like he just got here.  I’ve heard Peter has been in a bunch of other stuff, and now I guess I’ll have to go and find some of that and watch it.

He seems like he’s got the right attitude for the role, and is approaching it with the level of both gravitas and joy that it needs. I’m hoping for great things.

Leave a Reply

