Look Who’s been playing with Clay again? (no pun intended. Well, sort of)

Published August 7, 2013 by christinenorris

I have, off and on, made things with polymer clay. I’ve made dragons, and fairies (and sold them all, eventually), and on my Etsy shop now there are a couple of cute pairs of earrings that have charms that look like food. They are super fun to make, but kind of hard to get the right size for jewelry. It’s hard making tiny things sometimes.

But there’s something I’ve wanted to try and today I just busted out the clay and gave it a go. Here’s how they came out:

2013-08-07 13.31.25

 

These are just a first go, but I think they came out pretty cool, actually.  In case you’re wondering, these are all under 1″ tall, just the right size for bracelet charms (I can make them a little larger for pendants).

2013-08-07 13.33.39

When I make these for selling, I am going to do them in stages with multiple curings. Because that Dalek is a pain in the rear end when the little dots keep falling off. I’ll use some liquid Sculpey to attach them next time.

2013-08-07 13.32.31

I’m not crazy about the Sonic Screwdriver, but I think doing it in stages will solve the problem.

2013-08-07 13.32.45

Same thing for the police box, which came out nice but a little weird:

2013-08-07 13.31.46

The fez was, of course, the easiest.

2013-08-07 13.32.07

 

 

These aren’t yet glazed either, they’ll be a little shinier. I think they’ll go on a silver plated link bracelet with blue and clear beads between. I might add a charm or two — I have plans for a weeping angel and Cyberman head.

The great thing about fandoms is that I can work on all kinds of stuff to make more fan jewelry. I could do a Hunger Games or Harry Potter group…

As for these experimental ones, they have already been claimed by my son.

Leave a Reply

