Ten Questions With…Christine Hughes

Published August 8, 2013 by christinenorris

chris3Today on the blog I interview Christine Hughes, author of TORN, which comes out TOMORROW!

  • 1. Welcome to the blog, Christine. Tell us a little about yourself, and about TORN.

Hi!  My name is Christine Hughes and I’m the author of TORN, a YA paranormal, its sequel – the soon to be released Darkness Betrayed – and the Women’s Fiction Three Days of Rain.

  • 2. How did you come up with the idea for this book? What kinds of things inspired you?

I was watching the final episode of season 1 of the Vampire Diaries – Founder’s Day. A song came on when Elena was dancing with Damon, as Stefan was going all Vamp-crazy, and suddenly the entire storyline for TORN popped into my head. I immediately downloaded the song and built a playlist around it. That’s the kind of thing that inspires me – songs, lyrics… I have a playlist for everything I write, everything I think I want to write.

3. Tell us something no one else knows about the book—a ‘behind the scenes’ moment.

It wasn’t originally supposed to be about angels! That characterization happened organically and at the time I queried, I kicked myself. Rejection after rejection said the same thing – angels are over. One agent even went so far as to ask if I would change the angel aspect. When I asked “To what/” she replied, “Anything but angels.”

4. If you could go anywhere with your main character, where would it be? What would you do?

Samantha needs a break. A moment to actually grieve for her father. I’d probably take her somewhere secluded so she could do that properly.

5. What are five things most readers don’t know about you?

I met my husband when I was 14.

I love the cartoon Avatar – The Last Airbender

I am a klutz.

I’m not a big fan of chocolate  – or sweets in general. I’d rather eat something salty. Chocolate covered pretzels are the exception.

I think cheeseburgers are the greatest gift to mankind.

6. Pantser or plotter?

Panster. All the way. I am so unorganized when I try to plan.

7. Favorite junk food?

Pizza. (Cheeseburgers are not allowed to be considered junk food)

  • 8.  Camping or hotel with room service?

ROOM SERVICE!!! Camping? Bugs? No electricity? No thank you.

9. What’s next for you?

Working on an untitled thriller – mash together Clue, Agatha Christie’s And Then There Were None and Lois Duncan’s I Know What You Did Last Summer (book, not movie) and you’ll have an idea.

  • 10. Anything else you want readers to know about TORN?

Crushing Hearts and Black Butterfly publishing has picked it up and added a shiny new cover, so it’s changed publishers. The sequel will be out next month!

 My publisher: http://www.crushingheartsandblackbutterfly.com

1003015_10201452566344458_1134619640_n

Leave a Reply

