Ch-ch-ch-changes

Published June 23, 2015 by christinenorris

Well, lovelies, it’s been a heckuva month! A CURSE OF ASH AND IRON released just over a month ago. And it’s done rather well, I think. The reviews have been overwhelmingly positive, which I am ecstatic about. When you write something, it’s always nerve-wracking to see what other people think. Because you love what you did, and you want others to, too. There are nearly 800 adds on Goodreads. I wish that even half of those people read and rate the book.

But, I’m afraid I dropped the ball a bit. Not my fault, though. I should have been pushing this book a little more, doing more blogging related to the book, etc… As we may recall, though, my computer died just before the release. Ugh. I just got it back about a week or so ago, and then I had to make it “mine” again. It was completely wiped, brand new hard drive. None of my pics or documents. Thanks GOODNESS for Dropbox and external hard drives! I don’t think I lost anything! Whew!

Meanwhile, I had about three weekend events in that month, where I promoted the book ‘in person’. Which was really fun, but exhausting.

And, well, as it is wont to do, life sneaks up on you. As of Wednesday, i will be unemployed. The reasons don’t even matter, the job just didn’t work out for either party. I’m okay with it. I loved my kids, I know how to do the job and I’m pretty darn good at it. But the position is one that has had a long string of people coming and going, and there are reasons for that. I’m just the next link in the chain. I wish them luck.

I’m looking for a new job, of course, but in the meanwhile I have a little time to think about what I want to do should something not pan out in the near future. II mean, it’s summer. I will be diving back into writing, of course, making it more of a priority. Getting back on track with marketing CURSE, since I am fully operational again on computer. Working on getting the newsletter up and running. Hopefully making more of a go on Patreon, now that I have time to spare. Updating my website.

It won’t all be work. Vacation with the family in a couple of weeks. Going to the lake. I have my crafts, so I think I will be sprucing up my Etsy store to see if I can infuse a little more cash in my life while unemployed. Looking for freelance work in the meantime. I edit. I copy edit. I’ve done professional rewriting from translated works. Need someone? Look me up.

So expect more blogs, more videos. All the stuff I should have been doing anyway if not for unexpected life happening. I have some ideas churning.

One door closed. Let’s see what’s going on down the hallway. Meanwhile, if you could buy a book, that’d be awesome.

One comment on “Ch-ch-ch-changes

  • Sorry to hear about the job. It’s hard to have everything so up in the air. Also, I hope things are okay in your town–terrible storm! Good luck with the writing. I love drafting a story in the summer.

  • Leave a Reply

