Murphy was here

Published June 29, 2015 by christinenorris

So, about a week ago, I made this big blog post about why I had been so absent from the blog. And I swore I would be back with blogs related to CURSE, and all kinds of other stuff.

And then, I disappeared for a week.

Well, darling readers, life is a weird and often unbelievable thing. Last Tuesday was a HOT day. Like, really hot. And we were predicted to get some heavy thunderstorms in the evening when the cold front came through to break it all up. Tuesday evening, about 6pm, my family and I stood on the back porch and watched the thunderheads roll in. And something else. Something I’ve never seen and was SO weird, almost like smoke swirling ahead of the storm. I walked inside and was greeted with the weatherman telling me there was a TORNADO WARNING for my county.

We ran to the basement just as the lights went out. The storm lasted about 15 minutes, but when we came back up, it was like something from a disaster film. Trees were laying sideways. Everywhere. Every road out of town was blocked.

2015-06-23 18.45.56 2015-06-23 18.47.27 2015-06-23 18.48.53

This walnut tree used to be between my neighbor’s house and mine, now it’s on his garage.

2015-06-23 18.54.20 2015-06-23 18.54.33 2015-06-23 18.54.39

Trees were snapped off at the top, but more were just toppled over, pulling the whole root system out of the ground.

2015-06-23 19.13.35

This one took the sidewalk with it.

Our local firehouse was all but destroyed. Telephone poles were snapped in half, flagpoles bent over. Dozens of homes are destroyed or unlivable. They say it wasn’t a tornado, and maybe the damage was too widespread. But my county has NEVER had anything so severe, not even Hurricane Sandy hit us this hard. More people lost power in THIS storm than in the whole STATE during Sandy. My TOWN, according to the electric company, was the hardest hit.

We had zero warning.  When the hurricanes come, I have days to prepare– batteries, gas, canned food, coolers prepared. We were not ready. So many people lost thousands of dollars in food, including many businesses. My power didn’t come back on until Saturday night, and some people still don’t have power. Cleanup was provided by the county, the township, the state, and the forestry service. I mean, there were trees through people’s homes. Electric companies from out of state came to help.

Thankfully my house and my family are safe. I will admit that I whined after about the third day of no power. Mostly because I was unprepared, as I said. And because there was no communication about when we would get power back. I fully own that I was frustrated, and annoyed about it. I wasn’t mad AT anyone, because it wasn’t anyone’s fault. It was just a frustrating situation.  And I feel HORRIBLE for those that lost homes. I think we only had one death, which, if you had seen the devastation in my town and all over the county, is simply AMAZING.

Anyway, that’s what happened. It was scary, more after than during. It was unbelievable that such a short storm could cause such horrible and deep devastation. Hopefully no more deterrents, and I can be here and blogging.

Until vacation in two weeks 🙂

Leave a Reply

